RSS

Why cocos2d?

18 Jun

Here is my list why (I like lists, as you probably noticed by now):

  1. It’s open source. This is probably the most important thing about cocos2d, Not only free, meaning that you don’t have to pay for it. But free meaning, you can do with it whatever you like. Modify, learn from the code, see how things work, even if the documentation is lacking. It’s worth the little extra complexity over Corona, believe me.
  2. It’s build on a solid foundation of an Object Oriented language. Granted, it’s a bit annoying it has to be Objective-C and not old, good C++ or even better Java. But it’s good enough for me. And it’s not so much different from C++ anyway.
  3. You can use excellent Apple XCode IDE. With very good editor, syntax highlighting & autocompletion, code refactoring, templates, real debbuger, good integration with git version control and many more. It’s really much, much more, than Text Wrangler can offer.
  4. You build your code locally, on your own machine. It’s possible to do that without internet access.
  5. It offers particles and tilemaps. I’m going to use both in my game.
  6. It’s possible to use any 3rd part library, unlike in Corona. Like GameCenter or OpenFeint for example. Which I’m also going to use in my game. Well… not both. It will be GameCenter I believe.
  7. It has been around for some time and seems to be mature. Version 1.0 rc3 is the newest one.
  8. An impressive portfolio of good and commercially successful games made using cocos2d also shows, the engine is capable. Trainyard, Feed me Oil and many more. Look here for the full list.
  9. There is a big and helpful community gathered around coco2d. Here you’ll find their forums. Very nice and helpful place indeed. Of course Corona also have forums, but I personally got help much faster on cocos2d forums.
  10. It’s open source!

So… this list pretty much sums up all I have to say on that. I’m made my decision when it comes to engine. cocos2d it is.

Partial credits for the list go to wilczarz from cosos2d forums.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2011 in Technical

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Why cocos2d?

  1. sparkart

    August 15, 2011 at 11:17

    You should check out cocos2d-x: http://www.cocos2d-x.org/

    It’s a C++ version of cocos2d, and at the moment I believe that it is up-to-date with cocos2d.

     
    • habrys

      August 16, 2011 at 10:35

      Yes, I’ve seen this one. Still I think the cost of learning a few additional oddities of Objective-C is worth the effort. On return you get probably better support (C++ version of Cocos2d is less popular, than the Objective-C one), better integration with XCode etc.

       

Leave a Reply

 
